And remember, you can change any of these choices after the group is created.The icon is a little picture that shows up next to the group name in listings. When choosing a name, you're allowed to duplicate one that's already in use, but you might want to come up with something distinctive if you want family members to find it by searching.To fly completely under the radar, choose "Private." That way, the group won't show up in a Facebook search and nobody but members will be able to see it — the group name won't even show up in your profile.
But there are some interesting added capabilities, too.
For example, instead of sending messages one at a time to group members, you can contact everyone at once with the click of a button.
You control access, you can allow whomever you like to share messages and photos with the group, and, of course, it's free.
For starters, you'll need a personal Facebook account (the odds are good that you already have one — more than half of 50-plus Internet users enjoy social networking today).
If you want the group to show up in Facebook searches and be completely visible to anyone, including the member list and anything that's been posted, choose "Open" here.